Horror master Stephen King to receive PEN America award

American author Stephen King poses for photographers. (File photo: AFP)

There’s a whiff of horror about PEN America’s new Literary Service Award winner - it’s Stephen King.

The literary and human rights organization will honor King with the award May 22 at the American Museum of Natural History in New York. The Bangor, Maine, resident’s new novel, “The Outsider,” is being published on that date.

The award is handed out every year to a critically acclaimed writer “whose body of work helps us understand and interpret the human condition, engendering empathy and imagination in even the darkest hours.”

King’s books include “It,” ‘‘The Stand” and “Misery.”

Other writers who have won the prize include Stephen Sondheim, J.K. Rowling, Tom Stoppard, Salman Rushdie, Toni Morrison and Margaret Atwood.



Last Update: Saturday, 13 January 2018 KSA 01:18 - GMT 22:18

Send to a friend

Horror master Stephen King to receive PEN America award
Friend's name:
Friend's Email:
Sender's name:
Sender's Email:
Captcha Code
How are we doing?

How are we doing?

Name Name *
Email Email *
Country Country
Message Message *
Maximum 550 words allowed