Saudi, UAE, Bahrain will participate in Gulf Cup tournament in Qatar

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
1 min read

Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Bahrain announced on Tuesday their participation in this year’s Arabian Gulf Cup tournament in Qatar.

The Saudi Arabian Football Federation in a tweet said it had accepted the invitation to participate in the soccer competition, held from November 24 to December 6.

Meanwhile, the UAE Football Association announced its participation after receiving a renewed invitation from the Arabian Gulf Cup Federation, the state news agency WAM reported.

The Bahrain Football Association also confirmed its participation in the tournament in an Instagram post.

The announcements come two years after the Arab Quartet cut diplomatic ties with Qatar.

In June 2017, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain and Egypt broke off diplomatic and transportation links with Qatar over its support for extremist groups.

The quartet has set several conditions to mend ties with Qatar, including severing links with militant and terror groups, shutting down Al Jazeera and its affiliate stations, and removing Turkish military presence in the country.

Top Content Trending