New Egypt cabinet to be sworn in Tuesday

New President Sisi has tasked premier Ibrahim Mahlab with forming a new cabinet

Published: Updated:

A new Egyptian cabinet will sworn in on Tuesday after the previous government resigned following Egyptian President Abdel-Fattah al-Sisi’s landslide victory in May presidential elections.

Outgoing Foreign Minister Nabil Fahmy is to be replaced by a former ambassador to Washington, Sameh Shoukri, state media reported.

Sisi, who led last year’s ouster of former Islamist President Mohammad Mursi, had tasked premier Ibrahim Mehlab with forming a new cabinet after he was sworn in on June 8.

“Prime Minister Ibrahim Mehlab has finished meetings with his new ministerial team which is to be sworn in on Tuesday,” the official MENA news agency reported.

Uncertain replacement

Mehlab, who was retained as premier by Sisi, finalized a 34-member lineup which has 13 new ministers including Shoukri, it added.

It did not specify why Fahmy, who made a high-profile visit to the United States in April was being replaced.

He was the most senior Egyptian official to visit Washington since Sisi overthrew the elected Mursi in July in a move that has strained ties between the longtime allies.

“The president must have had a say in choosing the new foreign minister as usually he chooses ministers of interior, foreign, defense and justice,” said Mustapha Kamel al-Sayyid, political science professor at Cairo University.

The new line-up has retained most ministers from the previous government, including interior, defense, and finance.

Ministers who are keeping their posts:

1. Sudqi Subhi, defense minister
2. Mohammed Ibrahim, interior minister
3. Adel al-Adawi, health minister
4. Mustafa Madboli, housing minister
5. Ghada Wali, social solidarity minister
6. Hisham Za'zoo, tourism minister
7. Hussam Kamal, avaiation minister
8. Atif Hilmi, telecommunication minister
9. Sharif Ismail, petrol and natural resources minister
10. Mahmoud Abu al-Nasr, education minister
11. Ashraf al-Arabi, minister of planning and administrative reforms instead of filling post as administrative development minister
12. Hani Qadri, finance minister
13. Munir Fakhri Abdelnour, industry, commerce and small industries minister
14. Adel Labib, local development minister
15. Mohammed Mukhtar Jumaa, endowment minister
16. Khaled Abdulaziz, sport and youth minister
17. Nahid al-Ashri, manpower and immigration minister
18. Ibrahim Younis, military production minister
19. Khalid Hanafi, supply and internal trade minister
20. Mohammed Shakir, electricity minister

New ministers:

1. Najla al-Ahwani, international cooperation minister
2. Mahfouth Sabir, justice minister
3. Ibrrahim al-Hunaidi, transitional justice minister
4. Samih Shukri, foreign minister
5. Khaled Fahmi, environment minister
6. Sharif Hamad, scientific research minister
7. Sayid Abdulkhalif, higher education minister
8. Jabir Asfour, culture minister
9. Hani Dhahi, transportation minister
10. Ashraf Salman, investment minister
11. Mamadooh al-Dumyati, antiquities minister
12. Hussam Maghazi, irrigation minister
13. Adel al-Biltaji, agriculture minister
14. Layla Iskander, urban development minister (new ministry)

(With AFP)