Developing countries call on US to lift Palestinian UN veto

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
2 min read

The D-8 group of developing nations called on Saturday for the US to lift its veto on the full membership of Palestine as an independent and sovereign state in the United Nations.

The Palestinians are currently a non-member observer state, a de facto recognition of statehood that was granted by the UN General Assembly in 2012.

In a declaration after a meeting in Istanbul of its council of ministers, G-8 members Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey also demanded all countries stop supplying weapons and ammunition to Israel.

For the latest updates on the Israel-Palestine conflict, visit our dedicated page.

The UN General Assembly last month backed a Palestinian bid to become a full UN member by recognizing it as qualified to join and recommending the UN Security Council “reconsider the matter favorably.”

The Palestinian push for full UN membership comes several months into a war between Israel and Palestinian militants Hamas in the Gaza Strip, and as Israel is expanding settlements in the occupied West Bank, which the UN considers to be illegal.

As the Palestinian death toll in Gaza has exceeded 36,000 and a humanitarian crisis has engulfed the enclave, human rights groups and other critics have faulted the US for providing weapons to Israel and largely defending Israel’s conduct.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

On Saturday, the Israeli military said they rescued four hostages who were seized by Hamas during the Oct. 7 attack in which Israeli said 1,200 people were killed and 250 abducted.

Read more:

Israeli forces rescue four hostages from Gaza, military says

Israel cannot force its choices on Hamas, group’s leader says

Israel’s war cabinet minister Gantz delays statement after hostage rescue

Top Content Trending