Three prominent Iraqi blocs form coalition to gain largest share in parliament

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
2 min read

A new Iraqi coalition that consists of the National Coalition, Sairoon and the National Wisdom Movement was formed, sources told Al Arabiya.

The new coalition includes more than 100 MPs and aims to establish the largest bloc in parliament.

The agreement to form the coalition was signed by Sairoon led by Muqtada al-Sadr, the National Coalition led by Ayyad Allawi and the National Wisdom Movement led by Ammar al-Hakim at the latter’s headquarters in Baghdad.

This comes in light of the government claiming there were 'dangerous violations' in the election process.

On Wednesday, a Sadrist Movement spokesperson commented on the parliament’s vote in favor of amending the election law and said the parliament and the cabinet are responsible for the money paid for the electronic vote count, adding that the law which the parliament legislated for this is in violation of the constitution.

“We admit that some (results) were manipulated in some provinces and this must be addressed according to the electoral law in force. There is a judicial committee looking into appeals and complaints. The legislative and executive authorities have dominated by cancelling the judicial authority in the country,” the spokesperson said.

He added that the number of seats that the Sairoon bloc won will not change even if the votes are counted manually.

Top Content Trending