Germany imposes border controls with five neighbors to stop coronavirus

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Germany on Monday introduced border controls with Austria, Denmark, France, Luxembourg and Switzerland in a bid to stem the coronavirus outbreak.

Only those with a valid reason for travel, like cross-border commuters and delivery drivers, are allowed through, officials said. The measures started at 0700 GMT, AFP reporters said.

At the border between Germany’s Kiefersfelden and Austria’s Kufstein, police let trucks through but stopped all passenger cars to question drivers, an AFP photographer saw. By 0730 GMT, some 10 cars had been turned back.

German citizens and people with a residency permit will still be allowed to return to the country, Interior Minister Horst Seehofer said on Sunday when he announced the temporary border checks.

It is the latest drastic step taken by German authorities to halt the pandemic.

Read more:

The UK response to coronavirus: ‘Herd immunity’ and its risks explained

Coronavirus situation in France ‘deteriorating very fast’ warns health service

What history teaches us about the coronavirus pandemic

Top Content Trending