Seven UN member states, including Iran, lose right to vote over unpaid dues

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Seven countries including Iran have lost their right to vote in the UN General Assembly because of unpaid dues, Secretary General Antonio Guterres said Monday.

The UN charter calls for such a voting rights suspension for countries whose arrears equal or surpass the amount of the contributions due from them to UN coffers in the previous two years.

The other six countries are Niger, Libya, the Central African Republic, Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan and Zimbabwe, Guterres said in a letter to the president of the General Assembly, Volkan Bozkir of Turkey.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

The letter spells out an amount each country can pay, short of their total debt, to recover their right to vote.

Iran, for instance, needs to pay at least $16.2 million.

A file photo of the UN General Assembly. (AFP)
A file photo of the UN General Assembly. (AFP)

The UN’s budget is around $3.2 billion per year. The budget for peacekeeping operations is separate and totals around $6.5 billion.

Read more:

In late Trump salvo, US rejects UN budget over disagreements on Israel and Iran

UN says lacks funds to pay full Palestinian salaries, confident Biden will help

If elected, Biden to restore Palestinian aid, reopen PLO office in Washington: Harris

Top Content Trending