Russia’s Putin imposes visa restrictions on citizens of ‘unfriendly’ countries

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
2 min read

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree on Monday introducing visa restrictions for citizens of countries that Moscow deems “unfriendly” in response to sanctions over Ukraine.

The decree, which comes into force on Monday, suspends Russia’s simplified visa issuance regime with some European Union countries as well as Norway, Switzerland, Denmark and Iceland.

For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

It also ordered the Russian foreign ministry and other bodies to decide on introducing personal entry restrictions on “foreign citizens and stateless people who commit unfriendly actions against Russia, its citizens or its legal entities.”

Last month the Russian government approved a list of unfriendly countries including United States, Canada, Britain, EU states and Ukraine, among others.

Russia sent tens of thousands of troops into Ukraine on February 24 in what it called a special operation to degrade its southern Neighbor’s military capabilities and root out people it called dangerous nationalists.

Ukrainian forces have mounted stiff resistance and the West has imposed sweeping sanctions on Russia in an effort to force it to withdraw its forces.

Read more:

UN rights chief Bachelet ‘horrified’ by Bucha massacre, evokes possible war crimes

Ex-German chancellor Merkel defends 2008 decision to block Ukraine from NATO

EU condemns Bucha ‘massacre,’ discusses new Russia sanctions

Top Content Trending