Russia Ukraine conflict

Baltic nations to restrict entry of Russians, hindering access to EU

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

European Union members Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia have reached agreement to restrict the entry of Russian citizens traveling from Russia and Belarus, their foreign ministers said on Wednesday.

The three Baltic nations expect to put the entry ban in place by the middle of September. It will include exceptions such as for humanitarian and family reasons, lorry drivers and diplomats, Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics said.

“In the last couple of weeks and months the border crossing by Russian citizens holding Schengen visas have dramatically increased. This is becoming a public security issue, this is also an issue of a moral and political nature,” he told a press conference in Lithuania.

For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

Direct flights between Russia and the EU have been canceled after Russia invaded Ukraine in February, leaving few options for Russians to travel into the union.

Read more:

EU lays out new hurdles for Russian visa applicants


Putin: Western sanctions are a danger for the entire world

Moscow requests ‘clarifications’ over UN’s report on Zaporizhzhia nuclear plant

Top Content Trending