Russia Ukraine conflict

Russia's Federation Council ratifies annexation of four Ukrainian regions

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size

The upper house of Russia's parliament voted on Tuesday to approve the incorporation of four Ukrainian regions into Russia, as Moscow sets about formally annexing territory it seized from Kyiv during its seven-month conflict.

In a session on Tuesday, the Federation Council unanimously ratified legislation to annex the Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine, following a similar vote in the State Duma, Russia's lower house, yesterday.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

The documents now pass back to the Kremlin for President Vladimir Putin's final signature to complete the process of formally annexing the four regions, representing around 18 percent of Ukraine's internationally-recognized territory.

Russia declared the annexations after holding what it called referendums in occupied areas of Ukraine. Western governments and Kyiv said the votes breached international law and were coercive and non-representative.

Read more:

Presidents of 9 NATO countries condemn Russian annexations in Ukraine

Top Content Trending