Russia works to ease visa procedures for India, Syria, Indonesia, others

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Russia is working on easing visa procedures for six countries, including India, Syria and Indonesia, the state TASS news agency cited Deputy Foreign Minister Evgeny Ivanov as saying on Sunday.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

“In addition to India (procedures simplification) ... is being worked out with Angola, Vietnam, Indonesia, Syria and Philippines,” Ivanov said.

Earlier, Ivanov said that Russia is also preparing intergovernmental agreements on visa-free trips with 11 countries, including Saudi Arabia, Barbados, Haiti, Zambia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico and Trinidad, TASS reported.

Since the start of Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine a year ago, which has killed thousands and displace millions, Moscow has turned to China, India and African nations, trying to seek closer ties there.

While the United States, Japan and the European Union condemned Russia’s invasion and imposed sanctions, China and India have not done either.

India kept a neutral stance, declining to blame Russia for the invasion while sharply boosting its purchases of Russian oil.


Read more:

Australia, India, Japan, US FMs wary of China’s might, push Indo-Pacific option

Russia must be punished for Ukraine war: US, Quad allies

US says China arming Russia ‘still on the table’

Top Content Trending