Nordic nations agree to jointly operate fighter jet fleet of 250

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
1 min read

The air forces of four Nordic countries agreed on a goal of operating their roughly 250 fighter jets as one fleet.

The air force commanders of Sweden, Finland, Norway and Denmark signed a declaration of intent on March 16 on deeper cooperation, according to statements by the Finnish and Danish forces published Thursday and Friday, respectively.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

“The ultimate goal is to be able to operate seamlessly together as one force by developing a Nordic concept for joint air operations based on already known NATO methodology,” Denmark’s air force said.

The cooperation will encompass integrated command and control, operational planning and execution, flexible deployment of forces, joint airspace surveillance and training.

Norway and Denmark are already members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, and Finland expects to join within weeks after seeking entry into the military alliance in May last year together with Sweden.

While Sweden is facing a delay due to resistance from Turkey and Hungary, it’s expected to be admitted eventually.

Read more:

Armed Russian jets violated US airspace over base in Syria 25 times in March: General

Moscow honors pilot who crashed US drone, Washington labels him ‘at best an idiot’

Russia did not intercept B-52 bombers over Baltic Sea: US Air Force

Top Content Trending