AUTHOR
COLUMNISTS
Ghassan Charbel
Ghassan Charbel

Ghassan Charbel is the Editor-in-Chief of London-based Al Sharq al-Awsat newspaper. Ghassan's Twitter handle is @GhasanCharbel.

COLUMNISTS
Ghassan Charbel
Ghassan Charbel

Ghassan Charbel is the Editor-in-Chief of London-based Al Sharq al-Awsat newspaper. Ghassan's Twitter handle is @GhasanCharbel.

RECENTLY PUBLISHED

The ‘big battle’ never happened in Syria

Thursday, 10 January 2019

Syria’s internal war or other proxy wars that were launched on its territory have stolen the ...

A lesson in humility and the final bullet

Thursday, 03 January 2019

Here you are again standing at the end of the year. You have no choice but to turn the page. You ...

Yemen and the Stockholm window

Tuesday, 18 December 2018

Yemenis – regardless of the political side to which they belong – have no right to close ...

In ailing Europe, France is confused

Friday, 14 December 2018

In democracies, public opinion is a reckless and insidious horse. It takes you to the palace in a ...

Winds of realism at the G-20 Summit in Argentina

Wednesday, 05 December 2018

It was natural for the world to follow with interest the proceedings of the G20 summit that was held ...

Dictionaries, rockets and towers in the Arab world

Friday, 30 November 2018

Belonging to an era is not like going to the movies. It’s not enough to buy a ticket to book a ...

Iran and the winds of Trump

Tuesday, 06 November 2018

Donald Trump is demanding the Iranian regime to do what it is unable to achieve or to respond to. He ...

Weaving a Syria solution rug

Tuesday, 30 October 2018

Weaving a political solution in Syria requires strenuous and creative efforts that almost need a ...

The painful incident and the choice of accountability

Friday, 26 October 2018

In the life of states, as in the life of individuals, there are days that carry difficult or painful ...

Abdul Mehdi and the Iraqi fireball

Thursday, 11 October 2018

A few months ago, no one expected that Adel Abdul Mehdi would be asked to form the Iraqi government, ...

UN illusion and stars of the international clinic

Wednesday, 03 October 2018

Small nations are mistaken if they come to the United Nations with an illusion that the ...

The Iranian ‘surgeon’ is also ill

Wednesday, 26 September 2018

This month saw two events related to the Iranian “prestige”. On September 8, Iranian ...

Jeddah Summit: Prosperity protects stability

Monday, 17 September 2018

It is a gift from geography for your country to enjoy a strategic location that affects trade ...

Iraq and the fall of the tango

Thursday, 06 September 2018

I telephoned the Iraqi politician and he knew the purpose. He asked me about the date of my visit ...

The emigrant, the deception and the trap

Friday, 10 August 2018

Retirement age is approaching. He must choose. Does he continue to reside in the country that gave ...

Season of the Tsar’s gift distribution

Thursday, 02 August 2018

In the Syrian tragedy, which is approaching a critical turning point, the Russian plan seems more ...

Rouhani and Saddam’s rhetoric

Thursday, 26 July 2018

It is not unusual for tensions to be high among the Iranian regime and its generals. Tehran knows ...

How they watched the Helsinki Summit

Friday, 20 July 2018

A leader or an official cannot ignore the press conference convened by Presidents Donald Trump and ...

Why winning ‘Helsinki Cup’ is tougher than the World Cup

Monday, 16 July 2018

Winning the Helsinki Cup is harder than winning the World Cup. Here, maneuverability is not enough. ...

Time for Iran to go back to its borders

Wednesday, 04 July 2018

Europe has enjoyed decades of stability because it derived the necessary lessons from bitter ...

Top