Iraq bans public gatherings and travel to 9 countries over coronavirus concerns

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Iraq banned all public gatherings and banned travelers from Kuwait and Bahrain from entry, the health minister said on Wednesday, taking the total number of countries on the entry ban list to nine amid growing fears over the spread of the coronavirus.

Iraqi citizens are now also banned from traveling to the nine countries which are China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, Italy, Bahrain, and Kuwait, the minister said in a decree seen by Reuters.

He also ordered the suspension of schools and university and the closure of cinemas, cafes, clubs, and other public gathering spots nationwide from February 27 to March 7.



Iran announces four new coronavirus deaths, total now 19: Officials on State TV

New coronavirus cases in Kuwait associated with Iran travel bring total to 25

3 more Iran travelers infected with coronavirus in Bahrain, bringing total to 26

Top Content Trending