Britain adds four more countries to COVID-19 travel ‘red list’

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Britain said on Friday it would add Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan and the Philippines to its travel “red list”, banning entry to people arriving from those countries unless they are British or Irish nationals.

Read the latest updates in our dedicated coronavirus section.


Those who come to Britain from countries on the red list will be refused entry, while returning Britons must submit to 10 days of mandatory quarantine in hotels.

From 4 a.m. on April 9, Pakistan, Kenya, the Philippines and Bangladesh will be put on the list, the government said, joining about three dozen other nations mainly in Africa, the Middle East and South America.

There have been calls for the inclusion of some European countries where COVID-19 cases have surged, but the government has said it currently has no plans to do so.

Read more:

Kuwait extends curfew, Qatar suspends in-person learning

Vietnam asks for foreign support in procuring COVID-19 vaccines

Ireland adds Lebanon, Kuwait, Israel to mandatory COVID-19 quarantine list

Top Content Trending