Turkey halts flights from six countries due to COVID-19 variants

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Turkey has halted flights and all direct travel from Bangladesh, Brazil, South Africa, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka due to new variants of the coronavirus, the Interior Ministry said on Monday.

Those who arrive from other places but have been in the countries listed within the last 14 days will need to show a negative PCR test within a maximum of 72 hours before entry and they will need to quarantine for 14 days, it said.


For more coronavirus news, visit our dedicated page.

Those arriving from Pakistan and Afghanistan or who have been there in the last 14 days will need to quarantine in Turkey for 10 days upon arrival, it said.

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

Those coming from the United Kingdom, Iran, Egypt and Singapore will need to show a negative PCR test within 72 hours prior to arrival, the ministry added.

Read more:

Kuwait to allow direct flights to 12 countries, including UK, US from July 1

Hong Kong to ban passenger flights from UK to curb new COVID-19 variants

Explainer: What is the Delta variant of COVID-19 with K417N mutation?

Top Content Trending