EU to add Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Jordan to safe COVID-19 travel list

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

European Union governments agreed on Wednesday to add Canada and 10 other countries, including Saudi Arabia, to their list of states from which they will allow non-essential travel, EU diplomats said.

Ambassadors from the EU’s 27 states approved the additions at a meeting on Wednesday, with the change to take effect in the coming days.


For more coronavirus news, visit our dedicated page.

Ex-EU member Britain, where the highly infectious Delta variant of the coronavirus has caused a sharp rise in COVID-19 cases, is not on the list.

The countries are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Jordan, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

EU countries are recommended to gradually to lift travel restrictions for the current 14 countries on the list - Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and the United States.

Chinese administrative regions Hong Kong and Macau are also included.

Individual EU countries can still opt to demand a negative COVID-19 test or a period of quarantine.

Read more:

Heart inflammation after COVID-19 shots higher-than-expected in study of US military

Pandemic-induced economic impact on tourism could top $4 trillion: UN

Explainer: What is the Delta variant of COVID-19 with K417N mutation?

Top Content Trending