US imposes new sanctions on 13 entities in China, Iraq, Russia and Turkey

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo takes questions during a news conference in the Press Briefing Room at the State Department. (File photo: Reuters)

The United States is sanctioning 13 foreign entities and individuals in China, Iraq, Russia, and Turkey pursuant to the Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Act (INKSNA), according to a statement from US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.

The new sanctions will be imposed on five entities and individuals in China and Turkey for supporting Iran’s missile program.

“The recent determinations were the result of a periodic review of sanctionable activity as required by INKSNA. We have imposed two-year discretionary sanctions on the 13 individuals/entities identified in this report. The sanctions include restrictions on US government procurement, US government assistance, and exports,” Pompeo’s statement read.

Last Update: Wednesday, 20 May 2020 KSA 09:57 - GMT 06:57