AUTHOR
COLUMNISTS
Abdel Monem Said
Abdel Monem Said

Abdel Monem Said is the director of al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies in Cairo. He was previously a board member at Egypt’s Parliament Research Center at the People's Assembly, and a senator in Egypt's Shura Council.
 

COLUMNISTS
Abdel Monem Said
Abdel Monem Said

Abdel Monem Said is the director of al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies in Cairo. He was previously a board member at Egypt’s Parliament Research Center at the People's Assembly, and a senator in Egypt's Shura Council.
 

RECENTLY PUBLISHED

Israel and Hamas break each other’s bones, but who will cry first?

Thursday, 31 July 2014

As I was writing this article, the war in Gaza had escalated into a war of bone breaking between ...

It's pitch-black in Egypt, we need a glimmer of hope

Tuesday, 22 April 2014

In the days of former Egyptian president Husni Mubarak, the perpetual complaint was that the faces ...

Egypt needs electricity to move forward

Thursday, 10 April 2014

During Egyptian leader Hosni Mubarak’s days, people always complained that public faces ...

The prospect of a Sisi presidency for Egypt

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

At the time of writing, it appears almost certain that Field Marshal Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi will ...

An Arab Mandela

Saturday, 14 December 2013

Today, we are laying to rest the great African leader Nelson Mandela, who passed away on Dec. 5 at ...

Will Kerry succeed in resolving the Israeli-Palestinian struggle?

Saturday, 30 November 2013

U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry’s task of finding a settlement for the Israeli-Palestinian ...

The rising price of globalization

Tuesday, 12 November 2013

In the Hollywood movie Enemy of the State, Will Smith plays a simple citizen who has to confront the ...

The story of American-Egyptian relations

Wednesday, 06 November 2013

I recently finished reading the memoirs of Dr. Saadeddine Ibrahim, professor of Political Sociology ...

Terrorism and the battle for heart and minds

Monday, 28 October 2013

The first thing that we must realize is that the war on terrorism and extremism is a regional one. ...

The rift among Egypt’s civil society

Tuesday, 06 August 2013

In his book the “Philosophy of the Revolution,” late Egyptian president Gamal Abdel ...

How Arab states build their foreign policy

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

In courses first taught at any school of international affairs, it is said that in their foreign ...

Boston bombs: misinterpreted terrorism?

Thursday, 25 April 2013

I have many major capitals in the world without making any psychological or spiritual connections ...

The Arab Spring’s global echo

Wednesday, 17 April 2013

Finally, the death of the Arab Spring was declared by the same chorus that announced its birth two ...

Media in Egypt: the slanderer and slandered

Tuesday, 09 April 2013

Destiny has it that my practical life stay within an academic framework, media (television and ...

For whom the bells toll?

Saturday, 06 April 2013

The main advantage of bureaucracy is that it maintains traditions, appointments and customs despite ...

On conspiracy and the Arab Summit

Thursday, 04 April 2013

I was astounded as I sat and watched Arab League Deputy Secretary General Ahmed bin Helli reading ...

‘The Visit,’ Obama’s lucky timing?

Tuesday, 26 March 2013

 I do not know why it is that whenever the American president visits a country, I recall ...

The new pope and his ‘world agenda’

Tuesday, 19 March 2013

 You cannot follow up with the interesting process of choosing a new pope for the Catholic ...

The Arab world’s second liberal era

Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Two characteristics usually distinguish countries that develop: first, they really want to develop ...

The intellect of political boycotts in the Arab world

Tuesday, 05 March 2013

Would you choose to participate or boycott a political process relevant to general elections in an ...

Top