TAGS
africa

Coronavirus cases spread across Africa, nations prepare for more

Sunday, 15 March 2020

Africa is seeing a steady spread of the coronavirus across the continent, with four new countries ......

Nigerian artist makes dark skin prosthetics to boost patients’ confidence

Monday, 20 January 2020

Michael Sunday is delighted, if a little stunned, as he admires his new right hand: a silicone glove ......

Gunmen attack Greek tanker off West Africa, abduct eight crewmen

Tuesday, 31 December 2019

Gunmen have attacked a Greek tanker ship off Cameroon in West Africa and abducted eight of the 28 ......

South Sudan speaker resigns under pressure over mismanagement

Monday, 09 December 2019

South Sudan’s parliamentary speaker has resigned after lawmakers threatened to impeach him for ......

Trapped gold miners found dead in South Africa

Sunday, 08 December 2019

Four gold miners trapped underground after a tremor caused a rockfall in northeast South Africa have ......

Ethiopia defense minister breaks ranks with ally PM Abiy

Saturday, 30 November 2019

Ethiopia’s defense minister, a key ally of Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, has criticized plans to ......

UN says armed attacks in eastern Congo kill Ebola responders

Thursday, 28 November 2019

The head of the World Health Organization says attacks by armed groups in eastern Congo have killed ......

Africa’s energy options are growing, but power supply still a concern: IEA

Friday, 08 November 2019

Energy demand in Africa is growing twice as fast as the global average, and the continent is making ......

Facebook says it suspends accounts tied to Putin ally for meddling in Africa

Thursday, 31 October 2019

Facebook said on Wednesday it had suspended three networks of Russian accounts that attempted to ......

Russia lands nuclear bombers in Africa as Putin hosts continent’s leaders

Thursday, 24 October 2019

Russia landed two nuclear-capable bombers in South Africa on a training mission on Wednesday, a ......

African Union lifts suspension of Sudan

Saturday, 07 September 2019

The African Union (AU) has lifted its suspension of Sudan three months after freezing its membership ......

Spanish coastguard rescues 208 migrants crossing from Africa to Spain

Thursday, 29 August 2019

More than 200 migrants were rescued on Wednesday by the Spanish coastguard as they attempted to make ......

Nigeria plots course to membership of Africa’s planned free trade zone

Sunday, 28 July 2019

Nigeria is backing its commitment to join Africa’s recently agreed free trade zone by setting ......

Infantino attends African soccer body meeting in Egypt amid scandal

Thursday, 18 July 2019

The African soccer body is holding its first major meeting since announcing that FIFA will send a ......

VAR to be used from Africa Cup of Nations quarter-finals

Tuesday, 09 July 2019

The Video Assistant Referee (VAR) system will be introduced from the quarter-final stage of the ......

Top