TAGS
basra

Shell evacuates foreign staff from Iraq amid worker layoffs

Thursday, 21 May 2020

Shell has evacuated its foreign staff, numbering around 60, from Iraq's Basra Gas Company and flew ......

Iraq activist shot dead as protesters block roads again

Wednesday, 22 January 2020

An Iraqi anti-government activist was gunned down in the southern port city of Basra, a police ......

Iraqi journalist Ahmed Abdul Samad assassinated in Basra

Friday, 10 January 2020

Iraqi journalist Ahmed Abdul Samad has been assassinated in the city of Basra by unknown individuals ......

Iraq’s exports, production not affected by halting Nassiriya oilfield: ministry

Sunday, 29 December 2019

The halting of output from the Nassiriya oilfield in Southern Iraq will not affect the ......

Security forces kill nine people during protests across Iraq

Sunday, 24 November 2019

Security forces opened fire on protesters in Baghdad and several cities in southern Iraq on Sunday, ......

Iraqi protesters block gate to Khor al-Zubair commodities port

Tuesday, 19 November 2019

Protesters have blocked the entrance to Iraq’s Khor al-Zubair commodities port near Basra, ......

Protesters block entrance to Iraq’s Umm Qasr port

Monday, 18 November 2019

Protesters have once again blocked the entrance to Iraq’s Umm Qasr commodities port near Basra ......

Protesters block roads, bridges in Iraq’s Basra, announce general strike

Sunday, 17 November 2019

Anti-government protesters blocked on Sunday several roads and bridges in Iraq’s Basra, a ......

Amid heightened violence during protests, Iraqi PM promises new electoral reform

Saturday, 09 November 2019

Iraqi Prime Minister Adil Abdul Mahdi said on Saturday that the government and judiciary will ......

Iraqi forces kill 10 protesters in Baghdad and Basra

Friday, 08 November 2019

Iraqi security forces shot dead at least six anti-government protesters in Baghdad on Thursday and ......

FIFA clears Iraq to host World Cup qualifying games in Basra

Tuesday, 20 August 2019

FIFA says the southern Iraqi city of Basra can host the national team’s return to playing ......

Rocket hits site of foreign oil firms in Iraq’s Basra, wounds three

Wednesday, 19 June 2019

A rocket landed at the headquarters for several major global oil companies, including US giant ......

Exxon Mobil employees begin evacuating West Qurna 1 oilfield in Iraq’s Basra

Saturday, 18 May 2019

Exxon Mobil has evacuated all its foreign staff members out of Iraq’s West Qurna 1 oilfield ......

Crystal meth and crowded jails: Problems mount in Iraqi oil city

Tuesday, 09 April 2019

The southern Iraqi city of Basra is struggling to cope with a growing drug problem that has ......

Iraqi museum unveils 100 ‘looted’ artifacts

Wednesday, 20 March 2019

Over 2,000 artifacts, including about 100 that were looted and found abroad, were unveiled Tuesday ......

Top