TAGS
catalonia

Support for secession slips in Catalonia

Saturday, 16 November 2019

The number of Catalans who support regional independence fell to just under 42 percent, a poll ......

Barcelona rocked by violence on fifth day of separatist protests

Saturday, 19 October 2019

Hundreds of protesters battled police in the heart of Barcelona on Friday, setting up fiery ......

Spain readies for landmark ruling on Catalan independence trial

Monday, 14 October 2019

Spain’s Supreme Court is expected to announce on Monday its highly-anticipated verdict in the ......

No independence for Catalonia, says Spanish PM

Sunday, 07 April 2019

There will be no independence for Catalonia, nor a referendum on the question if the socialists are ......

Thousands protest in Madrid against government’s Catalonia policy

Sunday, 10 February 2019

Thousands of people demonstrated in Madrid on Sunday against Spanish Prime Minister Pedro ......

A year after the referendum, Catalonia remains divided

Thursday, 04 October 2018

On October 1, 2017, Catalan separatists held an illegal and divisive referendum which saw them ......

Ex-French PM Valls launches bid to become Barcelona mayor

Wednesday, 26 September 2018

Former French Prime Minister Manuel Valls said on Tuesday he would run for mayor of Barcelona, the ......

WATCH: Comedians seek to patch up divisions in Catalonia

Saturday, 10 March 2018

Catalonia is still without a leader, even if separatist parties retained their majority in ......

Sacked Catalan leader holds Brussels meeting despite Madrid opposition

Wednesday, 24 January 2018

Catalonia’s ousted president Carles Puigdemont met Wednesday with the speaker of the ......

Catalan ex-president, 4 others in custody in Brussels

Sunday, 05 November 2017

Brussels prosecutors said on Sunday that ousted Catalan president Carles Puigdemont and four ......

Belgium ‘to study’ arrest warrant for ousted Catalan leader

Saturday, 04 November 2017

A Spanish judge has issued a European warrant for the arrest of ousted Catalan leader Carles ......

Lawyer: Ousted Catalan leader will not return to Spain to testify

Wednesday, 01 November 2017

A lawyer for dismissed Catalan leader Carles Puigdemont, due to appear in a Spanish court this week ......

Work resumes normally in Catalonia as Spain enforces direct rule

Monday, 30 October 2017

Work resumed normally in Catalonia and calm reigned on the streets on Monday despite calls for civil ......

Catalan government sacked after independence declaration

Friday, 27 October 2017

Spain on Friday sacked Catalonia's regional government, dissolved the Catalan parliament and called ......

Madrid won’t use team coach for Girona clash for safety reasons

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

Real Madrid will not use their branded team coach to transport players for the trip to Catalonia to ......

Top