TAGS

Algerian court jails protesters over election

Tuesday, 19 November 2019

An Algerian court has jailed four protesters for 18 months for disrupting a candidate’s ......

Islamabad court deciding on whether to free Pakistani ex-PM

Saturday, 26 October 2019

An Islamabad court is holding an emergency hearing to decide whether to free Pakistan’s ailing ......

Turkey court keeps renowned philanthropist in jail

Tuesday, 08 October 2019

Renowned Turkish philanthropist and rights advocate Osman Kavala, accused of seeking to overthrow ......

Tunisian court rules candidate Karoui must stay in jail

Tuesday, 01 October 2019

A Tunisian court on Tuesday rejected an appeal by presidential candidate Nabil Karoui seeking ......

Iran satirist gets 11 years for US cooperation

Sunday, 25 August 2019

An Iranian court has sentenced writer and satirist Kioomars Marzban to 11 years in prison after ......

Officials say 57 dead in Brazil prison riot, 16 decapitated

Tuesday, 30 July 2019

At least 57 prisoners were killed by other inmates during clashes between organized crime groups in ......

Ex-premier Ouyahia jailed in Algeria anti-graft case

Wednesday, 12 June 2019

Former Algerian prime minister Ahmed Ouyahia who has faced questioning over corruption allegations ......

At least 23 inmates dead in clashes with police at Venezuela jail

Saturday, 25 May 2019

At least 23 inmates were killed and 14 police wounded in clashes at a jail in western Venezuela on ......

Crystal meth and crowded jails: Problems mount in Iraqi oil city

Tuesday, 09 April 2019

The southern Iraqi city of Basra is struggling to cope with a growing drug problem that has ......

Pakistan’s former PM Nawaz Sharif jailed for 7 years in corruption case

Monday, 24 December 2018

An accountability court in Pakistan on Monday sentenced former prime minister Nawaz Sharif for seven ......

Mother and son jailed in Turkey for throwing flowerpot at picture of Erdogan

Tuesday, 18 December 2018

A mother and son who threw a flowerpot at a campaign van with Turkish President Recep Tayyip ......

When in jail, seek bail: Indian politician’s road to participating in elections

Monday, 17 December 2018

A top Indian politician serving prison term in a corruption case has sought bail from the court so ......

Half of US adults have family member who has been jailed

Friday, 07 December 2018

Nearly half of all American adults have an immediate family member who has experienced incarceration ......

Egyptian actress sentenced to jail for attacking two officers

Tuesday, 09 October 2018

A Cairo court sentenced Egyptian actress Merihan Hussein to two years and a half in jail, in ......

Amal Clooney defends case of journalists jailed in Myanmar

Saturday, 29 September 2018

The lawyer representing two journalists imprisoned in Myanmar for what critics say was merely doing ......

Top