VIRTUAL EXPLAINER: All you need to know about Iraq’s political parties

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

The Iraqi parliament is divided into three main blocs: Shiites, Sunnis, and Kurds. The parliament holds 328 seats, with the Shiites holding a majority occupying 179 seats.

Sunnis are given 53 seats while Kurdish deputies hold 62 seats.


More than 7,000 candidates in 18 provinces are running this year for 329 parliamentary seats. More than 24 million of Iraq's 37 million people are eligible to vote.

Top Content Trending