VIRTUAL EXPLAINER: What are the final rites of the Hajj pilgrimage?

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
1 min read

The ritual begins in earnest on Tuesday as Muslims observe the first day of Eid al-Adha, or Feast of Sacrifice, which marks the end of the hajj.

On this day, pilgrims left nearby Muzdalifah where they will gather pebbles which will be used in Mina where they will perform the symbolic “stoning of the devil”.

Muslims traditionally slaughter sheep for the three-day Eid al-Adha, a tribute to the Prophet Abraham’s sacrifice of a lamb after God spared Ishmael, his son.

They will consume some of the meat and give the rest to poor people unable to buy food.

The hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam which every Muslim is required to complete at least once in their lifetime if they are healthy enough and have the means to do so.

Top Content Trending