Top Cairo teams separated as Egypt announces season draw

Season had previously been delayed twice due to security concerns

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Egypt’s Football Association drew up on Monday the groups for the premier league's new season at their headquarters on Oct. 6, after previous delays due to security issues, reported Egyptian daily al-Ahram.

The lineup of 22 teams has separated al-Ahly from Zamalek, two of Egypt’s most popular teams.

The season’s start has been delayed twice due to the lack of coordination between the association and security authorities.

Two seasons were abandoned while they were taking place, as a result of security concerns.

Sudden halt

Tournaments were suddenly halted in Feb. 2012 after clashes in a Port Said stadium left 72 al-Ahly supporters dead.

Around 17 months later, another season was cancelled after violence from mass protests after the ouster of former Islamist President Mohammad Mursi.

At the season’s end, five teams will face relegation while three will be promoted, leaving 20 teams for the next season.

The next season will see five teams relegated and three boosted up, leaving 18 teams at the top of the league in the third season. The winning team and runner-up in each group will then qualify for the semi-final.

Top Content Trending