Chelsea's Costa avoids disciplinary action over tangle with Skrtel
Chelsea striker Diego Costa has avoided disciplinary action after appearing to kick out at Liverpool’s Martin Skrtel in Saturday’s 3-1 defeat
Chelsea striker Diego Costa has avoided disciplinary action after appearing to kick out at Liverpool’s Martin Skrtel in Saturday’s 3-1 defeat, according to English Football Association sources.
Referee Mark Clattenburg is understood to have seen the incident and opted against issuing a caution, meaning there can be no retrospective sanction by the authorities.
The two players had fallen to the ground after a challenge by Spanish international Costa.
“I think it is a clear red card,” former World Cup final referee Howard Webb said on television at the time.
“He commits a foul on Martin Skrtel, then there is a little kick. The second action is a clear act of violent conduct. Diego Costa is a lucky boy on that occasion.”
- Russia 2018 World Cup committee head denies vote pre-decided
- FIFA's Blatter planned for Russia and U.S. to host World Cups
- FIFA gets seven candidates for soccer body presidency
- Sheikh Salman submits candidacy papers to FIFA
- Former political prisoner Sexwale to stand for FIFA presidency
- FIFA candidate Champagne says soccer inequalities must fizzle out
- Next FIFA boss should be outsider with good human rights record: FIFPro