WTA dedicates No.1 trophy to honor Chris Evert

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
1 min read

The Women’s Tennis Association has dedicated its trophy for the top-ranked player of the year in honor of Chris Evert.

Simona Halep receives the newly named Chris Evert WTA World No.1 Trophy as she is the year-end No. 1 for the second season in a row. Halep isn’t playing at the ongoing WTA Finals due to a back injury.

Evert was the first player to lead the rankings when they were introduced in 1975 and says she is “honored and privileged” to have the trophy named for her, in comments released by the WTA.

A total of 25 players have led the WTA rankings, with Steffi Graf having been year-end No. 1 a record eight times between 1987 and 1996.

Top Content Trending