World Cup 2022 last 16: which teams qualified for knockout stage?

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
7 min read

The World Cup knockout phase kicks off on Saturday in Qatar. Below is an overview of the teams qualified so far:

For all the latest headlines follow our Google News channel online or via the app.


Argentina clawed back the top spot in Group C with wins over Mexico and Poland after a shocking loss in the opener against Saudi Arabia. They will next face Australia on Saturday.

La Seleccion was able to grant a last chance to win the trophy to captain Lionel Messi, who has announced his intention to retire from the national team after the tournament.

Argentina won the World Cup in 1978 and 1986, and reached the final on three more occasions, most recently in 2014 when they lost against Germany.


Australia claimed a spot in the last 16 as runners up of Group D with 6 points from wins over Tunisia and Denmark. They go on to face Argentina on Saturday.

This is the sixth World Cup for the Socceroos and their fifth in a row. In 2006 they reached the Round of 16, falling to eventual champions Italy.


Brazil qualified for the knockout stage after back-to-back wins against Switzerland and Serbia, currently leading Group G before their last match against Cameroon.

The Selecao have claimed the World Cup five times and are pre-tournament favorites to win a record-extending sixth title.

Brazil have played in every World Cup since 1930 but have not reached the final since they last won the title in 2002.


Croatia joined the last 16 after two goalless draws with Morocco and Belgium and a 4-1 victory over Canada. They will next face Japan on Monday as the runners up of Group F.

This is the sixth World Cup for Croatia, who were beaten by France in the 2018 final.


England punched their ticket to the knockout phase as top of Group B with 7 points, following emphatic victories against Wales and Iran and a goalless draw with the United States.

The Three Lions, who reached the Euro 2020 final last year, will face Group A runners up Senegal on Sunday.

England’s only World Cup win dates back to 1966. They finished fourth overall in 2018.


Another favorite to win the tournament, reigning champions France delivered on expectations and became the first team to qualify for the last 16 with consecutive Group D wins over Australia and Denmark, followed by a 1-0 loss to Tunisia.

Led by AC Milan striker Olivier Giroud - who tied Thierry Henry as top scorer for the national side at 51 international goals - Les Blues are set to face Poland on Sunday.

France won the World Cup in 1998 and 2018.


Japan surged into the last 16 as the unlikely top of Group E after the Samurai Blue staged two stunning comeback wins over Germany and Spain, losing only to Costa Rica. They will face Croatia on Monday.

The four-time Asian Cup winners matched their best World Cup result, after qualifying for knockout stages three times before.


Morocco topped Group F with wins over Canada and Belgium following a goalless draw with Croatia, and is slotted to play against Spain on Tuesday.

This ties the country’s best World Cup result ever, as they reached the last 16 only once before in 1986.

The African side, playing in their fifth World Cup edition, in 2018 failed to qualify for the knockout stage after getting only one point in three matches.


The Netherlands secured a place in the last 16 with victories over African champions Senegal and hosts Qatar, topping Group A despite a 1-1 draw with Ecuador.

The Dutch - unbeaten in the last 18 games after their elimination at Euro 2020 - will face the United States on Saturday.

The Netherlands have been runners up at three World Cups in 1974, 1978 and 2010. This year marks their return to the international stage after they failed to qualify in 2018.


Poland clinched a spot in the last 16 as runners up of Group C after a win over Saudi Arabia, a draw with Mexico and a loss to Argentina. Poland closed the group stage tied with Mexico and advanced thanks to goal difference.

Led by captain Robert Lewandowski - reduced to tears after scoring his first World Cup goal against Saudi Arabia - Poland will face France on Sunday.

The Polish side had not reached the knockout stage of the tournament since 1986, after finishing third in 1974 and 1982.


A second-half brace from Bruno Fernandes sealed Portugal’s qualification with a 2-0 victory over Uruguay, who in 2018 knocked the side out in the last 16.

Portugal’s best World Cup result is a third place in 1966. Most recently, they won the Euro 2016 in France.

Currently a free agent due to a bitter divorce from Manchester United, captain Cristiano Ronaldo became the first male player to score at least one goal in five different World Cups after netting a penalty in the opener against Ghana.


With a decisive 2-1 victory over Ecuador, Senegal qualified to the last 16 and will face England on Sunday.

The reigning African Champions started the World Cup with a loss to the Netherlands, but were able to turn their fortune with a 3-1 win over hosts Qatar.

This is the third World Cup appearance for Senegal, who reached the quarter-finals in 2002.


One of the favorites to win the tournament, Spain clinched a spot in the last 16 with a blowout against Costa Rica followed by a draw with Germany and a loss to Japan.

After an early elimination in the hands of Russia in 2018, a rejuvenated La Roja - with 14 players under the age of 25 - will meet Group F winners Morocco on Tuesday.

Spain claimed the trophy in 2010.

United States

The United States qualified as runners up of Group B after a 1-0 victory over Iran in a match overshadowed by political tension, following draws with Wales and England.

They will meet the Netherlands in the first match of the knockout stage on Saturday.

The US national team has taken part in 11 World Cups, and never topped their third-place finish of 1930.

Read more:

In Diego Maradona’s shadow, Messi strives for Argentina’s forever love

Cristiano Ronaldo is 50-50 to play against South Korea: Portugal coach Santos

Top Content Trending