Halal chocolate emerges in Switzerland: What about those already consumed?

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

In April, Swiss company Toblerone announced that it had been producing halal chocolate for its Muslim customers.

This has led to a controversy with some saying that the company has become a famous brand that contributes toward “Islamization of the state”.


An official further stirred debate by claiming that the company has not changed the way chocolate is made. A statement from the company then claimed that the announcement was meant to clarify that the product is suitable for Muslim customers.

“The factory and all its products have been certified to match their products and components with halal standards, and this does not necessarily mean a change in the production process, but the original version of the product itself has not changed,” a company spokeswoman told Blick.

Production process

The recipe, which contains sugar, whole milk powder, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, honey, milk fat, almonds, soya lecithin, egg white, and vanillin, has not been changed, but the ingredients and production process at the factory near Bern have been adapted, another company spokesperson said.

More specifically, this means the production process must be regularly inspected by imams and avoid all contact with pork or alcohol. Alcohol is sometimes used to clean blades and other factory equipment.

Announcing that the company is now making halal Toblerone chocolate bars angered some of the brand’s lovers. Some even launched a campaign on social media, to boycott the brand.

On December 17, German newspaper Welt published a report calling it the “Islamization of Tobleron”.

According to the report, the company’s announcement that its products in Switzerland are halal can be considered a “submission" to Islam.

What makes Belgian chocolate the best in the world?

How one Saudi woman transformed her factory into a chocolate academy

Top Content Trending