Russia Ukraine conflict

Russia bans entry to British PM Boris Johnson, high-level government officials

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

Moscow on Saturday announced it was banning entry to Prime Minister Boris Johnson and several other top UK officials, after London imposed sanctions on Russia over its military operation in Ukraine.

“This step was taken as a response to London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating conditions for restricting our country and strangling the domestic economy,” the foreign ministry said in a statement.


For the latest headlines, follow our Google News channel online or via the app.

The ministry accused London of “unprecedented hostile actions”, in particular referring to sanctions on Russia’s senior officials.

“The British leadership is deliberately aggravating the situation surrounding Ukraine, pumping the Kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar efforts on the behalf of NATO,” the ministry said.

Russia’s entry blacklist includes UK Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Secretary Ben Wallace, former Prime Minister Theresa May and the First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon.

Britain has been part of an international effort to punish Russia with asset freezes, travel bans and economic sanctions, since President Vladimir Putin moved troops into Ukraine on February 24.

Read more:

Russia strikes armored vehicle plant, military repair facility in Ukraine: Interfax

Russian crowd mourns Black Sea flagship after sinking

At least 3,000 troops killed, new explosions hit cities: Ukraine President Zelenskyy

Top Content Trending