What’s the story of the Seven Mosques which pilgrims visit in Medina?

Published: Updated:
Enable Read mode
100% Font Size

The Seven Mosques in Saudi Arabia’s Medina is a complex of mosques that are often visited by pilgrims during the Hajj season due to their history that’s linked to the Prophet’s biography.

According to the Saudi Press Agency (SPA), these seven mosques are linked to Ghazwat al-Khandaq (the Battle of the Trench), also known as Ghazwat al-Ahzab (Battle of the Confederates), and they are located on the western side of the Sala’ Mountain, near a part of the trench which the Muslims dug during the Prophet’s time to defend Medina when the armies of Quraysh and tribes allied with it marched towards it in 5 A.H.

Muslims defending Medina were stationed in these mosques and each mosque was named after the person who was stationed there, except for Al-Fath Mosque. From north to south, these mosques are Al-Fath Mosque, Salman Al-Farsi Mosque, Abu Bakr As-Siddiq Mosque, Umar bin Khattab Mosque Ali bin Abi Talib Mosque and Fatimah Az-Zahra Mosque.

Mosque in Medina. (Supplied)
Mosque in Medina. (Supplied)

According to historians, the real number of mosques was six and the Masjid al-Qiblatayn Mosque, and which is one kilometer away from them, was added to them because those who usually visit these six mosques also visit the Masjid al-Qiblatayn Mosque.

The largest mosque is Al-Fath Mosque also known as Al-Ahzab Mosque. It is built above a hill in the west part of Sala’ Mountain. It was called Al-Ahzab Mosque because it wass where the Prophet, peace and prayer be upon him, prayed during the Ghazwat al-Ahzab. It was also called Al-Fath because the Quran’s Al-Fath Surah was revealed in that location as the battle’s result ended in triumph for Muslims.

Top Content Trending