Saudi Arabia among countries nominated for U.N. Security Council seat

Published: Updated:
Read Mode
100% Font Size
1 min read

The U.N. General Assembly is due to elect five new members to the Security Council on Thursday. Saudi Arabia is one of the contenders, reported the Associated Press.

Saudi Arabia, Nigeria, Chad, Lithuania and Chile are hoping to win the highly-coveted seats in this year’s election.

Unless the current situation changes, the winners are virtually guaranteed seats as there are no contested races.

Saudi Arabia, Chad and Lithuania have never served on the U.N.’s body, while Nigeria and Chile have both been on the council four times previously.

Security Council seats are sought-after because they give countries a strong voice in matters dealing with international peace and security, such as Syria and sanctions against Iran.

The council includes five permanent members with veto powers: The U.S., Russia, China, Britain and France as well as 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms.

To win, each country must obtain the support of two-thirds of all General Assembly members present, or a minimum of 129 votes if all 193 members participate.

Thursday’s five winners will replace Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo.

Winners will assume their posts on Jan. 1, 2014 and serve until the end of 2015.

(With the Associated Press)

Top Content Trending